Grand Slam of Darts 2018

Grand Slam of Darts 2018


One of the eagerly awaited darts tournaments of the year will again be shown live via Sky Sports. The Grand Slam of Darts bring the two darting organisations together for this unique tournament. The best of the British Darts Organisation (BDO) line up against the top qualified players from the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC).

Michael van Gerwen has dominated the Grand Slam finals for the past few years winning in 2015, 2016 and again last year in 2017. The Grand Slam is definitely a fans dream event as they can see their favourite players compete against the undisputed best players in the World.

Each of the players that feature has either won or gained a place by virtue of being a runner-up in a major darts event during 2018. Gary Anderson will be a major contender, winning his place in the Grand Slam by winning the World Matchplay in Blackpool. Earlier in the year Gary also won the World Series of Darts, Las Vegas Masters, the casino capital of the World. Darts fans can find out more about online casinos, betting and read useful articles at, the wide world of online casinos.

Although Michael will again line up as tournament favourite, he will be facing players from the BDO that could easily upset his dominance of the event.

Glen Durrant 2018 Lakeside BDO World ChampionGlen Durrant

Glen Durrant is the reigning BDO World Champion and the two-time Winmau World Master Champion. Glen beat Mark McGeeney in the last set decider at the Lakeside Country Club to retain the World title. Glen is also the new BDO no.1, a position he has also taken from Mark McGeeney.  The two dominate the BDO and both will look to make their presence felt in the Grand Slam

Mark McGeeney

The Gladiator has had a good run over the past month, claiming all three titles in Turkey, winning the Classic, the Open and the Open pairs with Scott Mitchell. Earlier in the year, he retained his Dutch Open title one of the biggest darts events in the BDO calendar. Mark has also signed with Dunvegan Enterprises, not a sponsor but new management and earlier this month Mark signed for one of the top makers in darts; Unicorn. Mark will be using his new unicorn darts for the first time at this event. More details will be published on his website when they become available.

Scott Waites is the only BDO player ever to win the Grand Slam but has failed to qualify for the 2018 tournament.

PDC Players

Rob Cross PDC World Darts Champions 2018Notably the new PDC World Champion Rob Cross and the current No2 in the PDC Players Order of Merit, Peter Wright will also be ranked highly to claim the title. Rob hasn’t had the best of the of years following his win over Phil Taylor in this year’s PDC World Championships. However, he managed to win a non-ranking World Series tournament, the Brisbane Masters.

Peter Wright always seems to be in the mix in the PDC tournaments, however, tends to falter at the last hurdle. Peter is one of the most colourful dart players on the PDC circuit. His trademark Mohican haircut is coloured uniquely for every dart event he enters. Peter is always a good bet and he could seriously do some damage in this event.

The Format

The format will see a field of 32 players made up of 24 from the PDC and eight from the BDO who will be split into eight groups of four in a round-robin phase, with 16 making it through to the knockout stages. If a player loses his first match he still has an opportunity to make it through to the knockouts.

Grand Slam of Darts Past Winners









2018 TBC TBC 0 - 0 TBC TBC
2017 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 12 Peter Wright PDC
2016 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 8 James Wade PDC
2015 Michael van Gerwen PDC 16 - 13 Phil Taylor PDC
2014 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 13 Dave Chisnall PDC
2013 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 6 Robert Thornton PDC
2012 Raymond van Barneveld PDC 16 - 14 Michael van Gerwen PDC
2011 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 4 Gary Anderson PDC
2010 Scott Waites BDO 16 - 12 James Wade PDC
2009 Phil Taylor PDC 16 - 2 Scott Waites BDO
2008 Phil Taylor PDC 18 - 9 Terry Jenkins PDC
2007 Phil Taylor PDC 18 - 11 Andy Hamilton PDC