Favourites Aiming for 2018 Players Championship Finals Success

PDC Players Championship Finals 2018


The draw has been announced for the 2018 Players Championship Finals, with the eleventh edition of the PDC darts tournament set to take place between 23rd and 25th November at Butlin’s Minehead resort, featuring the top competitors from the 22 Players Championship events throughout the year so far.

Coverage of the event will be broadcast on ITV4 as players compete for their share of the £460,000 prize fund, with £100,000 going to the tournament champion and £40,000 to the runner-up. The draw has been seeded amongst the 64 highest ranked players in the Players Championships Order of Merit, based on prize money earned from the 22 events to date.

The Leading Contenders for the Title

Without a doubt, thanks to another exceptional year at the oche, Michael van Gerwen is tipped by bookmakers as the clear favourite to retain the PDC title he won in 2017, after beating Jonny Clayton 11-2 in last year’s final. The betting lines have been released, and odds can be found here, which weigh heavily in favour of ‘Mighty Mike’ landing yet another championship, having won a whopping 18 tournament titles. This will likely make him the most popular choice amongst bettors.


PLayers Champion Winner 2017,2016,2015 Michael van Gerwen


However, while the Dutchman can lay claim to having won the most major darts titles this year, he is the number three seed and could face some tricky opponents in Section 4 of the draw, including English duo Rob ‘Voltage’ Cross and James ‘Lethal Biscuit’ Wilson, who have both reached the latter stages of leading tournaments this year.

Top seed of the 64 in the 2018 Players Championship Finals draw, published by the PDC, is Ian ‘Diamond’ White, who has ranked highly at Players Championships throughout the year, including wins at the Barnsley and Milton Keynes events in 2018.

Seeded second is another strong contender, with ‘The Flying Scotsman’ Gary Anderson having enjoyed a great year so far. Having won the World Matchplay, UK Open and Champions League events this year, plus three Players Championship events in 2018, he will undoubtedly be considered amongst the favourites in the Finals.

The Ones to Watch at the Oche

While there have been a number of players hitting great form, just at the right time to battle for this next big prize in the darts calendar, the last two Players Championship events held at the Barnsley Metrodome were both won by Krzysztof Ratajski. Earning a growing reputation, as his statistics clearly show, ‘The Polish Eagle’ setting his sights on major tournament success at the Finals this year in Minehead.


Rob Cross - Voltage PDC WOrld Champion 2018


Reigning PDC World Darts Champion Rob ‘Voltage’ Cross will also be aiming to electrify the 2018 Players World Championship Finals, aiming to extend the notable list of opponents he’s defeated this year. They include the legendary Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor and ‘Mighty Mike’ van Gerwen, so the 28-year-old could well gain some more impressive scalps, as the sixth seed seeks to continue his highly impressive progress in the sport.

PDC Darts Past Players Championship Winners







2018 TBC 0 - 0 TBC
2017 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 2 Jonny Clayton
2016 Michael van Gerwen  11 - 3 Dave Chisnall
2015 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 6 Adrian Lewis
2014 Gary Anderson 11 - 6 Adrian Lewis
2013 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 7 Phil Taylor
2012 Phil Taylor 13 - 6 Kim Huybrechts
2011  (Dec) Kevin Painter 13 - 9 Mark Webster
2011  (Feb) Phil Taylor 13 - 12 Gary Anderson
2010 Paul Nicholson 13 - 11 Mervyn King
2009 Phil Taylor 16 - 9 Robert Thornton